News ID: 217312
Published: 0940 GMT June 26, 2018

Oscars invites three Iranians as new members

Oscars invites three Iranians as new members

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invited a record number of new members, extending invitations to 928 people of whom three are Iranians.

The Academy topped last year's record of 774 new members. It invited 683 members in 2016 and 322 in 2015, which were also record numbers.

Iranian cinematographer Hossein Jafarian, for his contribution in Asghar Farhadi's 'The Salesman' and 'Sara and Ayda' by Maziar Miri, as well as Ali Asgari and Farnoosh Samadi for 'Gaze' and 'The Silence' in the short film and feature animation section.

The expansion is said to be an effort for more diversification. According to Variety, the new invited class is 49 percent female, which brings the total representation of women to 31 percent — a considerable boost compared to the 28 percent representation in 2017. Meanwhile, the representation of people of color has increased from 13 percent in 2017 to 16 percent.

Other notable actors invited include Timothee Chalamet, Emilia Clarke, Lily James, Evan Rachel Wood and Dave Chappelle.

Actors make up about 20 percent of the Academy's membership and are its largest branch. The new members come from 59 different countries and include South Korean actress Doona Bae, Algerian actress Sofia Boutella, and Indian actor Ali Fazal.

Some of the big-name actors include Daniel Kaluuya, Mindy Kaling, Tiffany Haddish, Kumail Nanjiani, Blake Lively, Amy Schumer, Dave Chappelle, Miles Teller, Randall Park, Daisy Ridley, Timothee Chalamet, Hong Chau, Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey, Blake Lively, Regina Hall, Rashida Jones, Lily James, Lily Collins, Chloe Grace Moretz, Olivia Munn, Kal Penn, Pedro Pascal, Amber Tamblyn, Damon Wayans, Gina Rodriguez, Sarah Silverman, Jada Pinkett Smith, Evan Rachel Wood, and Amandla Stenberg.

India received 20 invitations this year, including Shah Rukh Khan, Aditya Chopra, Soumitra Chatterjee, Madhabi Mukherjee and Naseeruddin Shah.

J.K. Rowling, Emily V. Gordon, Jonathan Nolan, Joe Robert Cole and Virgil Williams are among the most distinguished writers invited by the Academy.

Angela Robinson ('Professor Marston and the Wonder Women'), Justin Simien ('Dear White People') and Sean Baker ('The Florida Project') are among the directors invited to join the Academy. International filmmakers include Luca Guadagnino, Andy Muschietti, Chloe Zhao, Nadine Labaki, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Ziad Doueiri, and Michel Gondry.


Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 1/5853 sec