News ID: 202320
Published: 1209 GMT October 13, 2017

Three Iranian films nominated for APSA

Three Iranian films nominated for APSA

Three Iranian films have been nominated for prizes at the 11th Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA).

Mohammad Rasoulof's 'A Man of Integrity' (Lerd) will compete for Best Feature Film award, Navid Mohammadzadeh for Best Performance by an Actor and 'The Skier' by Fereidoun Najafi for Best Youth Feature Film.

Rasoulof's film will compete with Vivian Qu's 'Angels Wear White' (Jia Nian Hua, China, France), Samuel Maoz's 'Foxtrot' (Israel, Germany, France and Switzerland), Sergei Loznitsa's 'A Gentle Creature' (Krotkaya; France, Germany, Lithuania, the Netherlands), and Warwick Thornton's 'Sweet Country' (Australia).

For the first time in the event's history, three of these extraordinary filmmakers had earlier won Asia Pacific Screen Awards: Vivien Qu ('Black Coal and Thin Ice', 2014), Samuel Maoz (Lebanon, 2010), Warwick Thornton ('Samson and Delilah', 2009). Additionally, Mohammad Rasoulof's 'Goodbye', received three nominations in 2011.

Mohammadzadeh (playing role in 'No Date, No Signature') and actors from the Philippines, Japan, India and Palestine will compete for Best Performance by an Actor. Nominated are Paolo Ballesteros for 'Die Beautiful' (the Philippines), Koji Yakusho for 'The Third Murder' (Sandome no Satsujin, Japan) and Rajkummar Rao for 'Newton' (India).

Father and son actors share the final nominations as the APSA International Nominations Council were unable to separate the performances of Mohammad Bakri and Saleh Bakri. Both nominated for 'Wajib' (Duty; Palestine, Colombia, France, Germany, Norway, Qatar, the UAE) because each were integral to the other. This is the second nomination for Mohammad Bakri following his 2009 nomination for 'Eid Milad Laila' (Laila's Birthday), while his other son Adam Bakri was also nominated in 2013 for Hany Abu Assad's APSA Best Feature Film winner 'Omar'.

'Big Big World' (Koca Dünya), by Reha Erdem, 'Jasper Jones' by Rachel Perkins, 'The Seen and Unseen' (Sekala Niskala) by Kamila Andini, 'The Summer is Gone' (Ba Yue), by Zhang Dalei will participate in Best Youth Feature Film category.

The nominations for the 11th APSA, the region's highest accolade in film, celebrating cinematic excellence were announced in the seven narrative feature categories by Brisbane Lord Mayor Graham Quirk, together with former APSA International Jury President Lord David Puttnam, member of the APSA 2017 Nominations Council Kiki Fung and Chair of APSA and its Academy Michael Hawkins.

In all, 41 films from 21 countries and areas of the Asia Pacific region have received nominations in 2017, including the first nomination for a film from Bhutan.

The winners will be announced at the 11th APSA ceremony on November 23, when they will be presented with a unique and exquisite handmade APSA award vessel made by Brisbane-based internationally awarded glass artist Joanna Bone.

Across all Awards and Achievements, which encompasses the films judged by two International Juries, films from Australia, Japan and China lead the nomination tally with six each.

Thornton's 'Sweet Country' (Australia) received three nominations in total. As well as Best Feature Film, the film also received nominations for Achievement in Cinematography (the father and son team of Warwick Thornton and Dylan River) and Best Screenplay (David Tranter and Steven McGregor). Warwick Thornton's 'Samson and Delilah' won the APSA for Best Feature Film award in 2009 and is the only Australian film ever to win in this category.

Hirokazu Kore-eda's film 'The Third Murder' (Sandome no Satsujin, Japan) is also nominated for three APSAs in 2017. A Japanese auteur and APSA Academy member, Kore-eda is nominated for Achievement in Directing and Best Screenplay, and eminent performer Koji Yakusho is nominated for Best Performance by an Actor.

Kore-eda has previously received APSA nominations for his films 'I Wish' (Kiseki) in 2009 and 'Like Father, Like Son' (Soshite Chichi Ni Naru) in 2013.

Also receiving three nominations is 'Scary Mother' (Sashishi Deda; Georgia, Estonia), nominated for Achievement in Directing (Ana Urushadze), Achievement in Cinematography (Mindia Esadze) and Best Performance by an Actress (Nata Murvanidze).

The APSA Cultural Diversity Award under the patronage of UNESCO is an award which represents the shared common goals of APSA and UNESCO, to promote diversity of cultural expression and raise awareness of the value of culture at local, national and international levels.

The nominees in this prestigious and important Award are: 'Centaur' (Kyrgyzstan, France, Germany, Japan, and Netherlands), 'Dede' (Georgia, Croatia, the Netherlands, Qatar, and United Kingdom), 'Die Beautiful' (The Philippines) 'Honeygiver among the Dogs' (Munmo Tashi Khyidron, Bhutan) and 'Lady of the Lake' (Loktak Lairembee, India).

Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/2269 sec