News ID: 274285
Published: 0254 GMT September 16, 2020

2020 Student Academy Awards winners announced

2020 Student Academy Awards winners announced

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the 47th Student Academy Awards winners.

The 15 winning films, representing 18 individual student directors or directing teams, were selected by Academy member votes from 1,474 entries, representing 207 domestic and 121 international colleges and universities.

The gold, silver, and bronze medal placements in the seven student award categories will be revealed in a virtual program highlighting the winners and their films on October 21, reported.

The September 15 wins also mean the students are eligible to compete in the Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, or Documentary Short Subject categories for the 2021 Oscars. Past student award winners have received 64 Oscar nominations, and won or shared 13 awards.

Previous Student Academy Awards winners include Spike Lee, who won in 1983 for his master’s thesis film (‘Joe’s Bed-Stuy Barbershop: We Cut Heads’), and ‘South Park’ co-creator Trey Parker, who won in 1993 with ‘American History.’ Other notable past winners include Patricia Cardoso, Pete Docter, Cary Fukunaga, Spike Lee, Patricia Riggen, and Robert Zemeckis.


Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/1620 sec