News ID: 276012
Published: 0343 GMT October 27, 2020

Barcelona’s Asian festival to host 18 Iranian films

Barcelona’s Asian festival to host 18 Iranian films

Arts & Culture Desk

Eighteen Iranian films will compete at the 2020 Asian Film Festival Barcelona (AFFBCN), which is slated for October 28 to November 8.

‘African Violet,’ directed by Mona Zandi Haqiqi, ‘Sophomore Year of My School,’ by Rasoul Sadr-Ameli, and ‘Repression,’ by Reza Goran will compete at the official section of this cinematic event, IRNA reported.

‘Dance with Me,’ directed by Soroush Sehat; ‘Diapason,’ by Hamed Tehrani; ‘That Night’s Train,’ by Hamidreza Qotbi, and ‘Pilot,’ by Ebrahim Ebrahimian will also be shown in the new discoveries section.

‘Castle of Dreams,’ by Reza Mirkarimi; ‘Gholamreza Takhti,’ by Bahram Tavakoli; ‘Labyrinth,’ by Amir-Hossein Torabi; and ‘We Are All Together,’ by Kamal Tabrizi will also compete in the Panorama section.

‘Life Among War Flags,’ by Mohsen Islamzadeh; ‘Sly,’ by Kamal Tabrizi; ‘The Charcoal,’ by Ismaeil Monsef; ‘Tsunami,’ by Milad Sadrameli are among the representatives of Iranian cinema in the NETPAC Award section of the festival.

‘7.5,’ directed by Afghan director Navid Mahmoudi, who lives in Iran, also entered this section. ‘‎A Man without a Shadow,’ by Alireza Raisian; ‘Swear,’ by Mohsen Tanabandeh; and ‘Old Men Never Die,’ by Reza Jamali will be screened in the special section of the festival.

The new edition of AFFBCN will have an extensive program of cinema, meetings, conferences and seminars, with the intention of contributing to the knowledge of cinematography, which is not usually present in the commercial circuits.

As with the preceding editions, we will include around 100 feature films proceeding from a vast territory extending from Central Asia to Southeast Asia, and from there to the Asia-Pacific region, through which we can explore productions of more than 25 participants from Iran and the former Soviet republics of Central Asia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan to Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Nepal, Bangladesh, China, Hong Kong, Macao, Mongolia, South Korea, Japan, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Myanmar, Thailand, Singapore, the Philippines, Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Australia and New Zealand.



Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 1/0450 sec