News ID: 280255
Published: 0336 GMT February 02, 2021

Iran drawn with USA, France at Tokyo Olympics men’s basketball tourney

Iran drawn with USA, France at Tokyo Olympics men’s basketball tourney

Iran was drawn into Group A of the Men’s Basketball Tournament of Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, with the USA, France and the winner of the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament Victoria, Canada.

The men's preliminary rounds are scheduled to begin on July 25 and continue until August 7; while women’s tournament will kick off on July 26 coming to an end on August 8, Tasnim News Agency reported.

The official draw of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Basketball Tournament for both the women's and men's competitions took place on Tuesday at FIBA headquarters, the Patrick Baumann House of Basketball, in the Swiss village of Mies, according to

Twenty-four top teams from across the globe, 12 men and 12 women, will go for gold at the Olympics.

Eight teams at the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 qualified for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games Men's Basketball Tournament. Teams designated as OQT winner will be those qualifying through the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments in Victoria (Canada), Split (Croatia), Kaunas (Lithuania) and Belgrade (Serbia) from June 29 to July 4, 2021.

These four FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments were postponed last year due to the coronavirus pandemic. The winners of each OQT have been drawn into the four vacant positions of the Basketball Tournament of Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

FIBA Secretary-General Andreas Zagklis said, "We are looking forward to enjoying the world's best basketball players performing this coming July in the capital of Japan. FIBA is confident for the smooth delivery of the Olympic Basketball Tournaments based on the close partnership with the IOC (International Olympic Committee) and the TOCOG (Tokyo Organizing Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games) as well as on its own proven operational capacity during the last seven months. Last October and November, FIBA and its Regional Offices managed to have no less than 114 men's and women's national teams travel internationally and play safely in bio-secure hubs, performing approximately 12,000 PCR tests."

In both tournaments, a new competition system has been put in place for Tokyo. The Group Phase will consist of three groups of four teams each. The teams placed first and second in each group, and the two best third-placed teams in the Group Phase qualify for the Final Phase.

These changes were made to the competition system to bring additional interest to every game of the Group Phase and reduce player workload. To capture Olympic gold, a team has to play six games, instead of eight games, as was the case at past Olympic tournaments.

Group A of the men’s tournament consists of Iran, France, the USA and OQT Victoria winner (Canada, China, the Czech Republic, Greece, Turkey, Uruguay).

Group B comprises Australia, OQT Split winner (Brazil, Croatia, Germany, Mexico, Russia, Tunisia), OQT Belgrade winner (Dominican Republic, Italy, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, Senegal, Serbia) and Nigeria.

Drawn into Group C are Argentina, Japan, Spain and OQT Kaunas winner (Angola, Korea, Lithuania, Poland, Slovenia, Venezuela).

The groups of the women’s tournament are as follow:

Group A: South Korea, Serbia, Canada and Spain

Group B: Nigeria, Japan, France and the USA

Group C: Australia, Puerto Rico, China and Belgium



Resource: Tasnim News Agency
Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/3930 sec