News ID: 291604
Published: 0220 GMT March 15, 2021

Libya's interim PM sworn in, promises 'government of all Libyans'

Libya's interim PM sworn in, promises 'government of all Libyans'

Libya's new interim Prime Minister Abdul Hamid Dbeibah arrives for his swearing in ceremony in the eastern coastal city of Tobruk on March 15, 2021.

Libya's new interim Prime Minister Abdul Hamid Dbeibah was sworn in on Monday to lead the war-torn country's transition to elections in December, after years of chaos and division.

The North African nation descended into conflict after dictator Muammar Qaddafi was toppled and killed in a NATO-backed uprising in 2011, resulting in multiple forces vying for power, according to AFP.

A United Nations-supervised process is aimed at uniting the country, building on an October cease-fire between rival administrations in the country's east and west.

Dbeibah, selected at UN-sponsored talks in February alongside an interim three-member presidency council, took the oath of office in front of lawmakers in the eastern city of Tobruk.

More than 1,000 kilometers (630 miles) from the capital Tripoli in the west, Tobruk has been the seat of Libya's elected parliament since 2014.

Dbeibah's swearing-in comes after parliament last week approved his cabinet, in a move hailed by key leaders and foreign powers as "historic".

"This will be the government of all Libyans," Dbeibah said after the vote. "Libya is one and united."

Dbeibah's administration is expected to replace both the UN-recognized Government of National Accord, based in Tripoli, and a parallel cabinet headquartered in the east, under the de facto control of forces of military strongman Khalifa Haftar.

Turkey has backed the GNA, while Haftar's administration has drawn on support from the United Arab Emirates, Egypt and Russia.

Outgoing GNA head Fayez al-Sarraj has said he is "fully ready to hand over" power, while Haftar last month offered "the support of the armed forces for the peace process".




Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/1591 sec