News ID: 301746
Published: 0543 GMT March 31, 2021

Iran: Any peace deal should guarantee Afghans’ right of fate determination

Iran: Any peace deal should guarantee Afghans’ right of fate determination

Foreign Minister of Iran Mohammad Javad Zarif said on Tuesday that any peace agreement for Afghanistan should guarantee the Afghan people’s right to determine their own fate, urging the United Nations to facilitate the Afghan-Afghan talks.

Zarif made the remarks in his address to the 9th ministerial meeting of the Heart of Asia Conference in Dushanbe, Tajikistan, which focuses on Afghanistan, IRNA reported.

Establishment of peace and stability in Afghanistan is possible only through Afghan-Afghan talks, Zarif said referring to Iran’s efforts toward regional convergence and help Afghanistan play a role in regional developments.

He also referred to Iran-Afghanistan railway connection, noting that the development was an important step toward the formation of an international regional railway network.

Zarif also mentioned Iran’s helps to Afghanistan to counter the COVID-19 pandemic, stressing the continuation of aids.

Calling the government of law and preparation of the constitution in Afghanistan an important achievement, Zarif said that it is necessary for the countries of the region to facilitate the intra-Afghan talks and that the dictated solutions coming from some foreign players are non-constructive.

The first Asian Heart Conference, also known as the Istanbul Process, was held in Istanbul in 2011 with the participation of foreign ministers from 14 countries to expand regional cooperation towards Afghanistan in 2011 with the focus of Afghanistan and Turkey’s efforts.

China, India, Afghanistan, Turkey, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) were among the countries whose representatives attended the first Asia Heart Trends Conference.

The Asia Heart Conference has so far held eight meetings in Turkey (2011, 2019), Afghanistan (2012), Kyrgyzstan (2013), China (2014), Pakistan (2015), India (2016), and Azerbaijan (2017).

Resource: IRNA
Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/0672 sec