News ID: 315305
Published: 0937 GMT August 05, 2021

Presidents of Iraq, Afghanistan, ranking foreign delegates in Tehran for Raeisi’s inauguration

Presidents of Iraq, Afghanistan, ranking foreign delegates in Tehran for Raeisi’s inauguration

Political Desk

President Barham Salih of Iraq and his counterpart from Afghanistan Ashraf Ghani as well as a number of high-raking delegates from other countries and international organizations arrived in Tehran on Thursday to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Ebrahim Raisi as the eighth President of Iran.

The inauguration ceremony is to be held at the Iranian Parliament later in the day.

Other senior officials who have so far arrived in Tehran for Raeisi’s inauguration included Armenia's Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan, Prime Minister of Algeria Aymen Benabderrahmane, Speaker of the Russian Duma Vyacheslav Viktorovich Volodin, Speaker of Grand National Assembly of Turkey Mustafa Sentop, and Speaker of the Parliament of the Republic of Azerbaijan Sahiba Gafarova.

President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) Duarte Pacheco, and Hezbollah Deputy Secretary-General Sheikh Naim Ghassem are also among other senior guests who are in the Iranian capital to attend the inauguration ceremony of President Raeisi.

After being officially endorsed by Leader of the Islamic Revolution on Tuesday, Iran’s new president has so far held separate meetings with a number of officials from other countries who traveled to the Iranian capital to participate in his inauguration ceremony.

According to the Iranian Parliament’s Presiding Board, 115 officials from 73 countries will take part in the inauguration of the new president.

They include 10 heads of state, 20 parliament speakers, 11 foreign ministers, 10 ministers, as well as special envoys, deputy parliament speakers and chairmen of parliamentary commissions and parliamentary delegations.

The heads of 11 international and regional organizations, along with the representative of the UN chief, the envoy of Pope Francis, the European Union (EU), the Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO), the Conference on Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia (CICA) and the D-8 Organization for Economic Cooperation, also known as Developing-8, have been invited to the event.

Moreover, 170 domestic and foreign journalists have received invitations to provide coverage of the event.

Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/1731 sec