News ID: 316057
Published: 0318 GMT September 05, 2021

Iran announces 14-man squad for Asian volleyball meet

Iran announces 14-man squad for Asian volleyball meet

Sports Desk

New Iran head coach Behrouz Ataei announced the 14-man squad for the upcoming Asian Men's Volleyball Championship.

Following a frustrating Olympics campaign, the Asian powerhouse will be back in Japan to begin its defense against Hong Kong on September 12 in Pool B, which also features Thailand and Pakistan.

Ataei, who replaced Russian Vladimir Alekno, has picked a new-look team for the event, as only five players – Milad Ebadipour, Meisam Salehi, Ali-Asghar Mojarrad, Saber Kazemi, and Javad Karimi – were in the squad at the Tokyo Games, which saw Iran being knock out at the group stage.

They will be joined by Amir-Hossein Esfandiar, Esmaeil Mosafer, Ali Ramezani, Reza Abedini, Amir-Hossein Toukhteh, Mehdi Jelveh, Mohammadreza Hazratpour, Abolfazl Qolipour, and Amin Esmaeilnejad at the competition.

World-class setter Saeed Maroof, who announced his retirement from the international duty after the Olympics, as well as middle blocker Seyyed Mohammad Mousavi and outside hitter Amir Ghafour will be the key absentees for Iran in Japan.

The Asian championship could be considered as the beginning of a new era for Iran, which now sees Japan reemerge as a tough opponent in the continent.


Iran was beaten in five sets by Japan on the final day of the group phase in Tokyo, having suffered a straight-sets defeat against the Asian side at the Volleyball Nations League in May.

Also in the Asian Volleyball Championship, the host is pitted against India, Qatar, and Bahrain in Pool A, with Australia – runner-up in 2019 – facing China, Sri Lanka, and Kuwait in Pool C.

Pool D will see South Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan, and Saudi Arabia squaring off for knockout spots.


Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/1974 sec