News ID: 317044
Published: 0853 GMT October 12, 2021

Five Muslim scientists win Mustafa Prize 2021

Five Muslim scientists win Mustafa Prize 2021

Five Muslim laureates of the fourth edition of the Mustafa Prize biennial were named during a press conference in Tehran on Tuesday.

The announcement was made by Hossein Naderimanesh, a member of the scientific committee of the Mustafa Prize.

The Mustafa Prize is a science and technology award, granted to top researchers and scientists from the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) member states. The prize is granted to scholars of the Islamic world as one of the symbols of scientific excellence in recognition of the outstanding scientists and pioneers of scientific and technological cooperation and development in the world.

The science and technology $500,000 prize, Medal, and Diploma are awarded to Muslim researchers and scientists, regardless of whether they live in Muslim-majority nations or elsewhere, as well as non-Muslim scientists in Muslim countries. In 2016, science journal called the prize, the Muslim Nobel.

The first laureate in the field of All Areas of Science and Technology is Harvard University professor, Cumrun Vafa, for his work “F-Theory.” Cumrun Vafa was a candidate for the Fields Prize years ago, IRNA wrote.

The second laureate is Zahid Hasan for “Weyl fermion semimetals.” Zahid Hasan, originally from Bangladesh, is currently a professor at Princeton University.

Cumrun Vafa and Zahid Hasan share The Mustafa Prize in the field of Physics from All Areas of Science and Technology.

The next laureate is Mohamed H. Sayegh from Lebanon for “Novel Therapies to Improve Renal and Cardiac Allograft Outcomes”.

Muhammad Iqbal Choudhary for “Discovery of fascinating molecules with therapeutic applications,” is another laureate of this round.

Muhammad Iqbal Choudhary's expertise is in organic chemistry. He has received Khwarizmi Prize from Iran years ago.

Yahya Tayalati for “Observation of the Light by Light Scattering and the Search for Magnetic Monopoles,” is the next laureate.

Tayalati’s research has contributed extensively to the realm of dark matter and dark energy.

Mohamed H. Sayegh, Muhammad Iqbal Choudhary, and Yahya Tayalati are the 2021 Mustafa Prize laureates from Islamic countries.

In the three previous editions, more than 270 scientists from 33 countries were invited to the final stage of the Mustafa Prize ceremony, with 9 scientists from Iran, Singapore, Turkey, and Jordan were honored.

Naderimanesh, also the head of Biotechnology Science and Technology Department of Mustafa Award, said the prize “emphasizes the importance of science in Islam and recognizes Muslims who play a key role in the development of science and technology around the world.”

Another speaker of the press conference was Mahdi Saffarinia, CEO of the Mustafa Science and Technology Foundation, who emphasized the importance of “the impact of the laureates’ works on the wellbeing of all humanity.”

He said that the 2021 Mustafa Prize laureates will be awarded on Thursday, October 21st.

Saffarinia added that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, there were some limitations for inviting guests for this year’s ceremony, however, he noted, “About 50 scientists and scholars from 15 countries” are to attend the event.


Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/1864 sec