News ID: 324083
Published: 1016 GMT September 11, 2022

Queiroz names 24-man squad of Iranian league players for Austria camp

Queiroz names 24-man squad of Iranian league players for Austria camp

Sports Desk

New Iran head coach Carlos Queiroz announced a first 24-man squad of the Persian Gulf Pro League players ahead of a training camp in Austria.

The Portuguese manager replaced Croatian Dragan Skocic on Wednesday to take Iran to the upcoming FIFA World Cup – starting Nov. 20 in Qatar – three years after parting ways with Iran after an AFC Asian Cup defeat against Japan.

Sepahan fullback Ramin Rezaeian, who was an integral part of the team during Queiroz’s previous spell but never received a call-up under Skocic, has been named in the squad.

The players will be joined by the Iranian overseas players before leaving for the camp and two friendly fixtures against Uruguay (Sept. 23) and Senegal (Sept. 27).

Iran will kick off its World Cup campaign against England on November 21 in Group B – also featuring Wales and USA.

The showdown in Qatar will be a third successive World Cup for Iran under the Portuguese coach, who was sacked as the Colombia boss in December 2020 – midway through a disappointing World Cup qualifiers – and then terminated his contract with Egypt in April after missing out on a place in the World Cup finals.

Under Queiroz, Iran came within touching distance of a last-16 spot at the 2018 World Cup in Russia, finishing third in the group with four points, while European heavyweights Spain and Portugal progressed with five points.

The following is full Iran squad:


Goalkeepers: Alireza Beiranvand (Persepolis); Payam Niazmand (Sepahan); Seyyed Hossein Hosseini (Esteghlal)

Defenders: Ramin Rezaeian, Omid Nourafkan (Sepahan); Mehdi Shiri, Aref Aghasi (Foolad Khuzestan); Saleh Hardani, Abolfazl Jalali (Esteghlal); Saman Fallah (Paykan); Armin Sohrabian (Golgohar Sirjan); Morteza Pouraliganji (Persepolis)

Midfielders: Mehdi Mehdipour (Esteghlal); Mohammad Karimi, Yassin Salmani (Sepahan); Reza Asadi (Tractor); Mehdi Hosseini (Mes Rafsanjan); Mohammad Khodabandelou (Golgohar Sirjan); Milad Sarlak (Persepolis)

Strikers: Mohammad Mohebbi, Mehdi Qayedi (Esteghlal); Saeed Sadeqi, Mehdi Torabi (Persepolis); Shahriar Moghanlou (Sepahan)


Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/0806 sec