News ID: 324172
Published: 1025 GMT September 17, 2022

Iran manager Queiroz names 27-man squad for Uruguay, Senegal friendlies

Iran manager Queiroz names 27-man squad for Uruguay, Senegal friendlies

Iranian players are seen in a training session with new manager Carlos Queiroz in Tehran, Iran, on September 14, 2022.

Sports Desk

Portuguese head coach Carlos Queiroz named Iran’s 27-man squad ahead of a couple of friendly fixtures against Uruguay and Senegal in the upcoming international break.

Queiroz’s men left for a training camp in Austria late on Saturday, where they will square off against the South American giant on Friday before taking on the African champion four days later.

Iran is preparing for the World Cup in Qatar and will kick off its campaign against England on Nov. 21 in Group B – also featuring Wales and USA.

“It’s our first step towards World Cup preparation,” said the 69-year-old of the camp in Austria.

“We will do our best on and off the pitch to prepare for the competition. It is our responsibility to improve the conditions, make progress and always come forward,” added the former manager of Colombia and Egypt, who replaced Croatian Dragan Skocic less than a fortnight ago – three years after parting ways with the country following an AFC Asian Cup last-four defeat against Japan.

“As a professional coach, I know that all the teams in the world have made progress,” said Queiroz. “We will also do our best to face our opponents in Qatar and we will fully prepare for the season.”

Sixteen of the players selected for the visit to Austria had worked with Queiroz in his eight-year spell in charge, including Sepahan fullback Ramin Rezaeian, who never received a call-up by Skocic.

Al Ahli center-back Shoja Khalilzadeh, out of favor during Queiroz’s previous stint but an integral part to Iran’s qualification for Qatar, has also been picked in the squad.

The following is the full Iranian squad:


Goalkeepers: Alireza Beiranvand (Persepolis); Payam Niazmand (Sepahan); Seyyed Hossein Hosseini (Esteghlal); Amir Abedzadeh (Ponferradina)

Defenders: Ramin Rezaeian, Omid Nourafkan (Sepahan); Shoja Khalilzadeh, Hossein Kan’anizadegan (Al Ahli); Sadeq Moharami (Dinamo Zagreb); Abolfazl Jalali, Saleh Hardani (Esteghlal); Majid Hosseini (Kayserispor); Morteza Pouraliganji (Persepolis); Milad Mohammadi (AEK Athens)

Midfielders: Omid Ebrahimi (Al Wakrah); Saeed Ezzatollahi (Vejle BK); Milad Sarlak, Vahid Amiri (Persepolis); Saman Qoddus (Brentford); Ahmad Nourollahi (Al Ahli); Ehsan Hajsafi (AEK Athens)

Strikers: Mehdi Torabi (Persepolis), Ali Qolizadeh (Royal Charleroi SC); Alireza Jahanbakhsh (Feyenoord); Mehdi Taremi (Porto); Karim Ansarifard (Omonia Nikosia); Sardar Azmoun (Bayer Leverkusen)


Security Key:
Captcha refresh
Page Generated in 0/6836 sec